Skip to content

UNSCRYPTED

 

Episode 24: Open Blockchain Development Culture

Andreas M. Antonopoulos is a best-selling author, speaker, educator, and highly sought after expert in Bitcoin and open blockchain technologies. Andreas has written two best-selling technical books for programmers, “Mastering Bitcoin” and “Mastering Ethereum”. He has published “The Internet of Money” series of books, which focus on the social, political, and economic importance and implications of these technologies. He is known for making complex subjects easy to understand and highlighting both the positive and negative impacts these technologies can have on our global societies.

Follow on Twitter: @aantonop

Website: https://aantonop.com/

In this talk, Andreas discusses open blockchain development culture. He reviews the clash of cultures from those with differing backgrounds, from finance backgrounds to software development backgrounds. Various projects have taken different approaches to building these protocols. Is there a right way to build open blockchain software?

This talk was delivered on December 12th, 2019 for the La Bit Conf Latin American Bitcoin and Blockchain conference in Montevideo, Uruguay. If you want early-access to talks and a chance to participate in the monthly live Q&As with Andreas, become a patron: https://www.patreon.com/aantonop

This series is called ‘Unscrypted’ for a reason: all of Andreas’ talks are performed without slides or notes. You can find any necessary corrections and clarifications in the podcast description.

Credits: The narration for this episode was done by Stephanie Murphy. Production support from Erica and Jessica. Video editing by Adrian Tano. Sound editing by Dimitris Angelidis of Sampi Media. Logo design by Davi Barker. The music is called “Unbounded” by Orfan.

 

 

iTUNES:

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/open-blockchain-development-culture/id1482850426?i=1000472462323

 

ORIGINAL VIDEO:

Open Blockchain Development Culture – https://youtu.be/oDSPfrZeWfU

 

PREVIOUS EPISODES:

  1. “Introduction to Bitcoin” – https://aantonop.com/introduction-to-bitcoin/
  2. “The Stories We Tell About Money” – https://aantonop.com/the-stories-we-tell-about-money/
  3. “Forkology: A Study of Forks for Newbies” – https://aantonop.com/forkology/
  4. “Streaming Money” – https://aantonop.com/streaming-money/
  5. “The Currency Wars” – https://aantonop.com/the-currency-wars/
  6. “Escaping the Global Banking Cartel” – https://aantonop.com/escaping-the-global-banking-cartel/
  7. “Money as a System of Control” – https://aantonop.com/money-as-a-system-of-control/
  8. “Worse than Useless: Financial Surveillance” – https://aantonop.com/worse-than-useless/
  9. “Picking the Right Blockchain for the Job” – https://aantonop.com/picking-the-right-blockchain-for-the-job/
  10. “Another Brick in the Firewall” – https://aantonop.com/another-brick-in-the-firewall/
  11. “Universal Access to Basic Finance” – https://aantonop.com/universal-access-to-basic-finance/
  12. “The Killer App: Bananas on the Blockchain?” – https://aantonop.com/the-killer-app-bananas-on-the-blockchain/
  13. “Libre Not Libra: Facebook’s Blockchain Project” – https://aantonop.com/libre-not-libra-facebooks-blockchain-project/
  14. “Bitcoin: A Swiss Bank in Everyone’s Pocket” – https://aantonop.com/bitcoin-a-swiss-bank-in-everyones-pocket/
  15. “Outside the Golden Cage of Banking” – https://aantonop.com/outside-the-golden-cage-of-banking/
  16. “One of a Kind: Why Bitcoin is ‘The Next Bitcoin'” – https://aantonop.com/one-of-a-kind/
  17. “Bitcoin, Payment Security, and Consumer Protection” – https://aantonop.com/bitcion-payment-security-and-consumer-protection/
  18. “Bitcoin and the Banks: Five Stages of Grief” – https://aantonop.com/bitcoin-and-the-banks-five-stages-of-grief/
  19. “Bubble Boy and the Sewer Rat” – https://aantonop.com/bubble-boy-and-the-sewer-rat/
  20. “Investing in Education Instead of Speculation” – https://aantonop.com/investing-in-education-instead-of-speculation/
  21. “Bitcoin’s Origins and the Genesis Blockade” – https://aantonop.com/bitcoins-origins-and-the-genesis-blockade/
  22. “One Network, Many Chains” – https://aantonop.com/one-network-many-chains/
  23. “Unstoppable Code: The Difference Between Can’t and Won’t” – https://aantonop.com/unstoppable-code-the-difference-between-cant-and-wont/

SUPPORT:

Want early-access to talks? Monthly live Q&As with Andreas? Become a patron: https://www.patreon.com/aantonop

NEXT EPISODE:

“Unstoppable Code: The Difference Between Can’t and Won’t” – https://aantonop.com/unstoppable-code-the-difference-between-cant-and-wont/

SUPPORT:

Want early-access to talks? Monthly live Q&As with Andreas? Become a patron: https://www.patreon.com/aantonop

BOOKS:

MASTERING BITCOIN, 2nd Edition: https://amzn.to/2xcdsY9
THE INTERNET OF MONEY, v1: https://amzn.to/2ykmXFs
Audiobook: https://www.audible.com/pd/The-Internet-of-Money-Audiobook/B071KXKQD7
THE INTERNET OF MONEY, v2: https://amzn.to/2IIG5BJ
Audiobook: https://www.audible.com/pd/The-Internet-of-Money-Audiobook/B077Z8VWKM
THE INTERNET OF MONEY, v3: https://aantonop.io/tiomv3

Spanish, ‘Internet del Dinero’ (v1) – https://amzn.to/2yoaTTq
German, ‘Das Internet des Geldes’ (v1) – https://amzn.to/2LEiyqO
German, ‘Das Internet des Geldes’ (v2) – https://amzn.to/2VCzse5
French, ‘L’internet de l’argent’ (v1) – https://www.amazon.fr/Linternet-largent-Andreas-M-Antonopoulos/dp/2856083390
Vietnamese, ‘Internet Của Tiền Tệ’ (v1) – https://alphabooks.vn/khi-tien-len-mang

MASTERING ETHEREUM: https://amzn.to/2xdxmlK

Hannah R
Author: Hannah R