UNSCRYPTED

 

Episode 16: One of a Kind – Why Bitcoin is ‘The Next Bitcoin’

Andreas M. Antonopoulos is a best-selling author, speaker, educator, and one of the world’s foremost bitcoin and open blockchain experts.

Follow on Twitter: @aantonop
Website: https://aantonop.com/

In “One of a Kind: Why Bitcoin is ‘The Next Bitcoin,'” Andreas addresses the speculation about what will be the “next Bitcoin” or the “next Ethereum.” Echoing previous talks like ‘Invest in Education Instead of Speculation,’ he argues that the focus on searching for the best investment or time to buy amid a sea of pump-and-dump schemes is a worse way to spend your time than gathering knowledge about how these systems work. He also tells the story about how he bought bitcoin for the first time, why it is not the get-rich-quick scheme you may think it is, and the ways they could fail.

This talk took place on July 12th 2019 at the Athens Bitcoin and Blockchain Tech meetup in Athens, Greece.

This series is called ‘Unscrypted’ for a reason: all of Andreas’ talks are performed without slides or notes. You can find any necessary corrections and clarifications in the podcast description.

Credits: The narration for this episode was done by Stephanie Murphy. Production support from Erica and Jessica. Video editing by Adrian Tano. Sound editing by Dimitris Angelidis of Sampi Media. Logo design by Davi Barker. The music is called “Unbounded” by Orfan.

iTUNES: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/one-of-a-kind-why-bitcoin-is-the-next-bitcoin/id1482850426?i=1000459600306

ORIGINAL VIDEO:

“One of a Kind: Why Bitcoin is ‘The Next Bitcoin'” – https://youtu.be/p0ftZgCEZos

PREVIOUS EPISODES:

  1. “Introduction to Bitcoin” – https://aantonop.com/introduction-to-bitcoin/
  2. “The Stories We Tell About Money” – https://aantonop.com/the-stories-we-tell-about-money/
  3. “Forkology: A Study of Forks for Newbies” – https://aantonop.com/forkology/
  4. “Streaming Money” – https://aantonop.com/streaming-money/
  5. “The Currency Wars” – https://aantonop.com/the-currency-wars/
  6. “Escaping the Global Banking Cartel” – https://aantonop.com/escaping-the-global-banking-cartel/
  7. “Money as a System of Control” – https://aantonop.com/money-as-a-system-of-control/
  8. “Worse than Useless: Financial Surveillance” – https://aantonop.com/worse-than-useless/
  9. “Picking the Right Blockchain for the Job” – https://aantonop.com/picking-the-right-blockchain-for-the-job/
  10. “Another Brick in the Firewall” – https://aantonop.com/another-brick-in-the-firewall/
  11. “Universal Access to Basic Finance” – https://aantonop.com/universal-access-to-basic-finance/
  12. “The Killer App: Bananas on the Blockchain?” – https://aantonop.com/the-killer-app-bananas-on-the-blockchain/
  13. “Libre Not Libra: Facebook’s Blockchain Project” – https://aantonop.com/libre-not-libra-facebooks-blockchain-project/
  14. “Bitcoin: A Swiss Bank in Everyone’s Pocket” – https://aantonop.com/bitcoin-a-swiss-bank-in-everyones-pocket/
  15. “Outside the Golden Cage of Banking” – https://aantonop.com/outside-the-golden-cage-of-banking/

NEXT EPISODE:

“Bitcoin, Payment Security, and Consumer Protection” – https://aantonop.com/bitcion-payment-security-and-consumer-protection/

SUPPORT:

Want early-access to talks? Monthly live Q&As with Andreas? Become a patron: https://www.patreon.com/aantonop

BOOKS:

MASTERING BITCOIN, 2nd Edition: https://amzn.to/2xcdsY9

THE INTERNET OF MONEY, v1: https://amzn.to/2ykmXFs

Audiobook: https://www.audible.com/pd/The-Internet-of-Money-Audiobook/B071KXKQD7

THE INTERNET OF MONEY, v2: https://amzn.to/2IIG5BJ

Audiobook: https://www.audible.com/pd/The-Internet-of-Money-Audiobook/B077Z8VWKM

Spanish, ‘Internet del Dinero’ (v1) – https://amzn.to/2yoaTTq
German, ‘Das Internet des Geldes’ (v1) – https://amzn.to/2LEiyqO
German, ‘Das Internet des Geldes’ (v2) – https://amzn.to/2VCzse5
French, ‘L’internet de l’argent’ (v1) – https://www.amazon.fr/Linternet-largent-Andreas-M-Antonopoulos/dp/2856083390
Russian, ‘Интернет денег’ (v1) – https://www.olbuss.ru/catalog/ekonomika-i-biznes/korporativnye-finansy-bankovskoe-delo/internet-deneg
Vietnamese, ‘Internet Của Tiền Tệ’ (v1) – https://alphabooks.vn/khi-tien-len-mang

MASTERING ETHEREUM: https://amzn.to/2xdxmlK