Outside the Golden Cage of Banking

UNSCRYPTED

 

Episode 15: Outside the Golden Cage of Banking

Andreas M. Antonopoulos is a best-selling author, speaker, educator, and one of the world’s foremost bitcoin and open blockchain experts.

Follow on Twitter: @aantonop
Website: https://aantonop.com/

In “Outside the Golden Cage of Banking,” Andreas covers the history of financial regulation in the United States, and how banks became the cop of last resort in countries around the world. In the last episode, he prompted you to think about combating the politics of fear. Echoing previous talks like “Money as a System of Control,” he also questions why  we have come to accept totalitarian surveillance in our financial lives while protesting against other invasions of privacy. Finally, he argues that Bitcoin will thrive outside the golden cage of the banking cartel.

This talk took place on June 27th 2019 at the Munich Bitcoin Meetup in Munich, Germany.

This series is called ‘Unscrypted’ for a reason: all of Andreas’ talks are performed without slides or notes. You can find any necessary corrections and clarifications in the podcast description.

Credits: The narration for this episode was done by Stephanie Murphy. Production support from Erica and Jessica. Video editing by Adrian Tano. Sound engineering by Dimitris Angelidis of Sampi Media. Logo design by Davi Barker. The music is called “Unbounded” by Orfan.

ORIGINAL VIDEO:

“Outside the Golden Cage of Banking” – https://youtu.be/ZBIkC7nkbWE

PREVIOUS EPISODES:

  1. “Introduction to Bitcoin” – https://aantonop.com/introduction-to-bitcoin/
  2. “The Stories We Tell About Money” – https://aantonop.com/the-stories-we-tell-about-money/
  3. “Forkology: A Study of Forks for Newbies” – https://aantonop.com/forkology/
  4. “Streaming Money” – https://aantonop.com/streaming-money/
  5. “The Currency Wars” – https://aantonop.com/the-currency-wars/
  6. “Escaping the Global Banking Cartel” – https://aantonop.com/escaping-the-global-banking-cartel/
  7. “Money as a System of Control” – https://aantonop.com/money-as-a-system-of-control/
  8. “Worse than Useless: Financial Surveillance” – https://aantonop.com/worse-than-useless/
  9. “Picking the Right Blockchain for the Job” – https://aantonop.com/picking-the-right-blockchain-for-the-job/
  10. “Another Brick in the Firewall” – https://aantonop.com/another-brick-in-the-firewall/
  11. “Universal Access to Basic Finance” – https://aantonop.com/universal-access-to-basic-finance/
  12. “The Killer App: Bananas on the Blockchain?” – https://aantonop.com/the-killer-app-bananas-on-the-blockchain/
  13. “Libre Not Libra: Facebook’s Blockchain Project” – https://aantonop.com/libre-not-libra-facebooks-blockchain-project/
  14. “Bitcoin: A Swiss Bank in Everyone’s Pocket” – https://aantonop.com/bitcoin-a-swiss-bank-in-everyones-pocket/

NEXT EPISODE:

“One of a Kind: Why Bitcoin is ‘The Next Bitcoin'” – https://aantonop.com/one-of-a-kind/

SUPPORT:

Want early-access to talks? Monthly live Q&As with Andreas? Become a patron: https://www.patreon.com/aantonop

BOOKS:

MASTERING BITCOIN, 2nd Edition: https://amzn.to/2xcdsY9

THE INTERNET OF MONEY, v1: https://amzn.to/2ykmXFs

Audiobook: https://www.audible.com/pd/The-Internet-of-Money-Audiobook/B071KXKQD7

THE INTERNET OF MONEY, v2: https://amzn.to/2IIG5BJ

Audiobook: https://www.audible.com/pd/The-Internet-of-Money-Audiobook/B077Z8VWKM

Spanish, ‘Internet del Dinero’ (v1) – https://amzn.to/2yoaTTq
German, ‘Das Internet des Geldes’ (v1) – https://amzn.to/2LEiyqO
German, ‘Das Internet des Geldes’ (v2) – https://amzn.to/2VCzse5
French, ‘L’internet de l’argent’ (v1) – https://www.amazon.fr/Linternet-largent-Andreas-M-Antonopoulos/dp/2856083390
Russian, ‘Интернет денег’ (v1) – https://www.olbuss.ru/catalog/ekonomika-i-biznes/korporativnye-finansy-bankovskoe-delo/internet-deneg
Vietnamese, ‘Internet Của Tiền Tệ’ (v1) – https://alphabooks.vn/khi-tien-len-mang

MASTERING ETHEREUM: https://amzn.to/2xdxmlK